Next level workout routine!

Tonight I decided to see what the next step of my workout routine looked like.

Holy *%#@!

I’ve been doing the Power 90 workout program, using it as a warmup for the well-marketed P90X. It’s broken into four parts – Sculpt 1-2 and 3-4, and Sweat 1-2 and 3-4. (Don’t ask me, I’m not the marketing department.) Sculpt is focused on weight and isolation training, and Sweat is more aerobic / yoga / martial arts style exercise, with each program taking about a half hour. I figured that I’d come far enough in Sweat to take a stab at 3-4.

Hoo boy.

It’s essentially the same routine, with no new moves. There are, however, an extra round of reps for each exercise, and they’re done faster. I managed to keep pace for the first 15 minutes or so, but towards the end of the third 30 seconds of jumping jacks, I had to slow down and catch my breath.

I *did* manage to complete the entire workout with only one quick pause, and I pretty much kept pace with the routine. When it came to the ab routines at the end… well, they wanted ten sets of twenty, and I was only able to do ten sets of fifteen-ish. I partly blame the mosquito bite in the small of my back for that.

After all was said and done, I was a dripping mess from head to toe, and probably at the point where you max out on a stress test at the hospital. I wasn’t able to get out more than a few words before I needed another lungful of air. I wasn’t dizzy, though, and my heart felt fine; I was just beat.

So, I tried it. I survived it. I’m not gonna try it again for a while.

Leave a Reply

