Hypochondriac, heal thyself?

So I took my car in to the shop today to get a radiator leak fixed. While I was there, I happened to notice my pulse in my wrist. I could see a vein pulsing to my heartbeat… and pulsing… and pulsing… and, oddly enough, not showing any PVC symptoms. I continued to observe and realized I’d gone 35-40 heartbeats in a row without a PVC. Typically, I’d get one every six or seven beats.

This evening, I remembered to check in on this again, so I broke out the blood pressure cuff. I checked my pulse a half dozen times, and at no point in the testing do I or the cuff detect a PVC. This is very odd, as I haven’t have a pressure test since 2008 that didn’t have at least one PVC show up. So, this is good. On the other hand, every test also came back with my blood pressure being around 145 / 80, which is not so good. This could also explain other minor, annoying symptoms that have been more frequent lately, like leg discomfort and this odd twinging in my stomach.

It sounds like I finally get to call the doctor and check out their new offices come Monday. It’s probably been six months since I’ve been in to see a doc, which may be the longest I’ve gone since at least 2008.

EDIT: Well, crap. As I was siting here, I decided to take a good long check of my pulse, and after about 40-45 beats, I did feel a PVC. The sad part is that it also showed up at the same time as one of those twinges in my guts. It makes sense, since I hadn’t ever noticed the PVCs before I had that major bout of stomach problems in 2008. So, they’re still tied to each other, apparently. I’ve been taking Prevacid for a week now, thinking I’d done my stomach a bad thing again at some point with stress and heartburn. Sounds like I had the right idea :p Still calling the doc on Monday though, since it’s going on three weeks now with the stomach problems. A final BP check clocked in at 136 / 76, though, so that’s a positive thing.

Leave a Reply

