Excellent podcast recording tonight…

Unfortunately, the battery on the recorder died about one minute into my ten minute recording :p

I was on fire, too! To recap the recording in text form:

I’m a bit buzzy tonight, thanks to caffeine. The CPAP machine hasn’t been quite doing the job lately, so I’m not getting the right sleep. That means I’m back on the caff to keep going during the day. I had a bit of Dew after dinner tonight, and I’m paying the price %^}

I just got back from a quick run to the grocery store tonight to pick up a few things that Pam and I saw on a tv commercial that sounded good for dinner later this week. I went tonight because of the winter storm forecast for later this week, and thought I should just go now. While I was there, I noted that panic buying has indeed come to town. I went down the canned good aisle, and found fruits and veggies 50% gone from the shelves. There was a lot of empty space in the pre-packaged pudding section, and the bread and bagels were 90% cleaned out. I didn’t check the milk, but I’ve heard that was half empty as well.

I have lived in Michigan for 41 years so far (excluding those seven months in Indianapolis), and I have never seen anything like this. I may not have been paying attention when I was younger, mind you, but I’m certain I’ve never seen this since we moved down to Ypsi. I saw panic gas buying after 9/11, but never cleaning out grocery store shelves. I’m wondering if the rest of the population is over-reacting… or if I’m under-reacting.

The forecasts have called for everything from 6 inches to 15 inches of snow around here (and even one calling for two feet!), so I’m not really sure how to deal with this. There hasn’t been a gloom and doom weather forecast in ten years that’s panned out as predicted, but there’s definitely something brewing out there. 

2xradara4

So at the least, I’ve made sure the generator is topped off and there’s some extra gas in the garage. The cupboards are stocked like always… so we’ll just have to wait and see. If you live west of the Mississippi, wish us luck! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

