On Net neutrality

So the FCC formally passed “net neutrality” rules today, and it looks like things are going to get worse for Internet users. I made a comment on CNN’s page about this (http://www.cnn.com/2010/TECH/web/12/21/fcc.net.neutrality/index.html), but wanted to post it elsewhere, just in case they decide not to approve my posting

In response to this post:

Mike9725

With cable, I pay the cable company a monthly fee for HBO. They in turn pay HBO. I’m fine with that. But if I’m going to have to pay extra to access facebook, is my ISP going to cut a check to facebook? If so, then I might be for it. But somehow I doubt that would happen.

What about sites I already pay a monthly fee for, like Netflix and Rhapsody. Am I going to have to pay both the ISP for access and the site to access content?

I said:

From the article:

“…the rules won’t absolutely prevent broadband providers from “pay for priority” — giving faster service to those able to pay for it, or to one favored business over another…”

This has been widely discussed for months as something that providers are considering doing. Since the FCC has now formally stepped up and NOT said “No, you can’t do that”, you should expect exactly such a thing to happen in the near future, as they try to squeeze even more money out of customers.

Comcast, for example, will charge you more for Hulu, Pandora, and Netflix traffic, and offer it to you at lower speeds, while offering their own services at a non-limited rate.* (They already did this to me when I used Vonage as a phone service, instead of the VOIP service they provided. When I picked up the phone, my bandwidth dropped to dialup speeds.)

* http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiered_Internet

One thought on “On Net neutrality

  1. This really doesn’t surprise me. For these companies, it’s all about greed instead of service. This is why they typically want to bundle services (or TV channels for that matter) instead of letting you choose. I’ve not noticed much difference with my speeds, but then again I’m signed on with Comcrap’s business class internet (in order to bypass their 250GB/Month bandwidth cap) and also to get faster speeds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

