My wife’s HHR = teh awesome!

(Note: not the HHR in question)

So we got a little snow here yesterday. Reports bring the average in at around 4 inches. It rained before the snow, so there’s ice everywhere. 405 school closings were reported in the Detroit metropolitan area. It’s a bloody mess on the roads today.

So, of course, I had to make a run to the store tonight for a prescription and some last minute Christmas cookie fixings. No problem, I thought, I’ll just take the wife’s new car and see how it handles in this weather.

It handles GREAT.

This car has the first anti-lock brake system I’ve used that actually feel likes it works. I couldn’t lock the tires up no matter how I tried. I pointed the car in a straight line, stomped on the pedal, and it kicked back against my foot, slowing the car down nice and gradual. It also has a traction control system that is ridiculously effective. With it active, I couldn’t fishtail, no mater how hard I tried. I accelerated into a turn on an icy patch, and it actually kept me going at the proper speed and direction for the turn, and I didn’t slip once.

I like this car even more now.

Leave a Reply

